4sSydney 2018 is supported by two committees, the Program Committee and the National Organising Committee. The Program Committee is responsible for the academic program and facilitating participation of diverse regional and international STS networks. The National Organising Committee will encourage wide participation in 4sSydney among the Australian scholarly community and coordinate many of the affiliated events.


Emma Kowal
(Co-chair, Deakin)
Matthew Kearnes
(Co-chair, UNSW)
Kim Fortun
(4S President, UCI)
Sophie Adams
(Conference Secretary, UNSW)
Nicola Marks
Timothy Neale
Daniel Breslau
(Virginia Tech)
Noela Invernizzi
(Universidade Federal do Paraná)
Diane Gu
Aalok Khandekar
Thomas Cousins
(Stellenbosch University)
Sulfikar Amir
(Nanyang Technologicall University)
Soraya Boudia
University of Paris Descartes
Chihyung Jeon
(Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology)
Anto Mohsin
(Northwestern University in Qatar)
Eli Elinoff
(Victoria University of Wellington)
Anna Harris
(Maastricht University)
Thao Phan
(University of Melbourne)
Hined Rafeh
Olga Bychkova


Matthew Kearnes
(Co-chair, UNSW)
Emma Kowal
(Co-chair, Deakin)
Jeremy Baskin
(University of Melbourne)
Matthew Chrulew
Peta Cook
Radhika Gorur
Declan Kuch
Kari Lancaster
Heather Lovell
Nicola Marks
Catherine Phillips
Timothy Neale
Juan Salazar
Caroline Schuster
Michaela Spencer
Niamh Stephenson
kylie valentine
Sonja van Wichelen
Jeremy Walker

Sydney Logistics Committee

Kari Lancaster, chair (UNSW)

kylie valentine (UNSW)

Declan Kuch (UNSW)

Sophie Adams (UNSW)

Matthew Kearnes (UNSW)

Niamh Stephenson (UNSW)

Jeremy Walker (UTS)

Wes Shrum (4S Program Officer, Louisiana State University)

Steve Coffee (4S Communications Administrator)

National STS Making & Doing Organising Committee:

Michaela Spencer (Chair, CDU)

Radhika Gorur (Deakin University)

Declan Kuch (UNSW)

Catherine Phillips (Melbourne University)

Teun Zuiderent-Jerak (Ex officio, Linköping University)


STS Across Borders Design Group

Managing Editor:  Aalok Khandekar (IIT Hyderabad)

Digital Editor: Lindsay Poirier (RPI)

Archivist: Vivian Wong (University of California, Los Angeles)

Gallery Editors: Noela Invernizzi (Universidade Federal do Paraná) and Hined Rafeh (RPI)

Exhibit Advisors: Vivian Choi (St Olaf College),  Maral Erol (Isik University), Kim Fortun (University of California, Irvine), Anna Harris (Maastricht University), Angela Okune (University of California, Irvine), Grant Otsuki (Victoria University of Wellington)


Prize Committees

2018 Bernal Prize Committee: Lucy Suchman (4S Past President, Lancaster University), Lesley Green (4S Council Member, University of Cape Town), Wen-Hua Kuo (former Council Member, National Yang-Ming University), Margarita Rayzberg (Student Representative, Northwestern University)

2018 Fleck Prize Committee: Shobita Parthasarathy (4S Council Member Chair, University of Michigan), Daniel Breslau (Virgina Tech), Tania Pérez-Bustos (Universidad Nacional de Colombia)

2018 Carson Prize Committee: Sara Wylie (4S Council Member and Chair, Northwestern University), Oscar Maldonado Castañeda (4S Council Member, Universidad del Rosario), Tim Choy (University of California, Davis)

2018 Edge Prize Committee: Gwen Ottinger (4S Council Member and Chair, Drexel University), Teun Zuiderent-Jerak (4S Council Member, Linköping University), and Erika Szymanski (Student Representative to 4S Council, University of Edinburgh)

2018 Mullins Prize Committee (all members of 4S Council): Gloria Baigorrotegui, (University of Santiago), Anita Say Chan (University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Steven J. Jackson (Cornell University).

Mentoring Award Committee 2018 (all members of 4S Council)Noela Invernizzi (Chair, Universidade Federal do Paraná), Anita Say Chan (University of Illinois); and Oscar Maldonado Castañeda (Universidad del Rosario).

2018 Infrastructure Committee Award: Gloria Baigorrotegui (4S Council Member and Chair, University of Santiago), Steven Jackson (4S Council Member, Cornell University), Aadita Chaudhury (Student Representative to 4S Council, University of York).

Making & Doing Award Committee: Teun Zuiderent-Jerak (4S Council Member and Chair, Linköping University); Michaela Spencer (CDU),  Anita Say Chan (4S Council Member, University of Illinois), Nicholas Shapiro (Chemical Heritage Foundation)

And special thanks to…

Graham Lucas, for conference development

Matt Harsh, for organising the Mentoring program

And our student volunteers.